MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE JERSEY VILLAGE CRIME CONTROL AND PREVENTION DISTRICT MEETING HELD ON AUGUST 17, 2020 AT 7:00 P.M. PURSUANT TO SECTION 418.016 OF THE TEXAS GOVERNMENT CODE

Pursuant to Section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, on March 16, 2020, the Governor of the State of Texas granted the Office of the Attorney General's request for the temporary suspension of certain provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Act to allow for telephonic or videoconference meetings of governmental bodies that are accessible to the public in an effort to reduce in-person meetings that assemble large groups of people, as a precautionary measure to contain the spread of novel coronavirus COVID-19.

Accordingly, the public was not allowed to be physically present at this Crime Control and Prevention District Meeting for the City of Jersey Village, Texas, but the meeting was available to members of the public and allowed for two-way communications for those desiring to participate via telephone with the following toll-free number: **346-248-7799 along with Webinar ID: 996 4756 1809.**

A. Open Meeting - The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Andrew Mitcham, with the following present:

President, Andrew Mitcham Director, Drew Wasson Director, James Singleton Director, Greg Holden Director, Bobby Warren Director, Gary Wubbenhorst

Director, Sheri Sheppard

City Manager, Austin Bleess City Secretary, Lorri Coody City Attorney, Justin Pruitt

Staff in attendance: Kirk Riggs, Chief of Police; Mark Bitz, Fire Chief; Isabel Kato, Director of Finance; Robert Basford, Director of Parks and Recreation; Harry Ward, Director of Public Works; and Bob Blevins, IT Director.

B. CITIZENS' COMMENTS - Any person who desires to address the Crime Control and Prevention District (CCPD) Board regarding an item on the agenda will be heard at this time. In compliance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, unless the subject matter of the comment is on the agenda, the City staff and CCPD Members are not allowed to discuss the subject. Each person is limited to five (5) minutes for comments to the CCPD Board.

There were no public comments.

C. Consider approval of the minutes of the CCPD Meetings held on July 21, 2020.

Director Wubbenhorst moved to approve the minutes for the meeting held on July 21, 2020. Director Warren seconded the motion. The vote follows:

Ayes: Directors Wasson, Holden, Warren, Singleton, Wubbenhorst, and Sheppard

President Mitcham

Nays: None

The motion carried.

D. Conduct a public hearing on the proposed Jersey Village Crime Control and Prevention District's Budget for the fiscal year 2020-2021.

REGULAR MEETING OF THE JERSEY VILLAGE CRIME CONTROL AND PREVENTION DISTRICT – August 17, 2020

President Mitcham opened the Public Hearing at 7:04 p.m., giving all interested parties the right to appear and be heard on the proposed fiscal year 2020-2021 Crime Control and Prevention District (CCPD) budget.

President Mitcham called upon Chief of Police, Kirk Riggs to give a presentation on the CCPD budget. Accordingly, Chief of Police Riggs gave a short presentation that included the supplementals being requested for FY 2020-21 as follows:

Crime Control	Prevention District		
50-27-5523	STEP Funding Increase	Police	\$ 20,000
50-27-5523	Moving 1 Officer to be paid from CCPD	Police	\$ 102,000
50-27-3504	New uniforms that last longer and wear better	Police	\$ 11,000
50-27-3505	Ammo/Targets for 2 weapons qualifications per year	Police	\$ 4,000
50-27-3523	Taser cartridges and supplies including training	Police	\$ 7,200
50-27-3523	Ballistic Vests	Police	\$ 13,000
50-27-3523	Protective Gear, ballistic plates, carriers, helmets	Police	\$ 43,900
50-27-4599	Card Reader/Video equipment for Property Room	Police	\$ 4,500
50-27-5029	FBI National Academy - Exec. Leadership Training	Police	\$ 4,000
50-27-6572	Update Police Dept Audio/Video in Training Room/EOC	Police	\$ 6,000
50-27-6572	4 more Flock Cameras - to be placed at Apt's.	Police	\$ 8,000
		FUND TOTAL:	\$ 223,600

In addition to the supplementals, there are plans to purchase two (2) patrol vehicles, which will be Chevrolet Tahoes that are fully outfitted for \$49,575 each. These will be purchased under the City's Vehicle Replacement Program.

President Mitcham then called upon anyone wishing to speak at the public hearing. With no one signing up to speak, President Mitcham closed the Public Hearing at 7:08 p.m.

After closing the public hearing there were a few questions for the Chief, which he answered accordingly.

E. Consider Resolution No. 2020-03, adopting a budget for the ensuing fiscal year, beginning October 1, 2020, and ending September 30, 2021 in accordance with Chapter 363 of the Texas Local Government Code and the alternative procedures adopted by the District; and providing for the effective date thereof.

With limited discussion on the matter, Director Singleton moved to approve Resolution No. 2020-03, adopting the Jersey Village Crime Control and Prevention District's Budget for fiscal year 2020-2021. Director Holden seconded the motion. The vote follows:

Ayes: Directors Wasson, Holden, Warren, Singleton, Wubbenhorst, and Sheppard

President Mitcham

Nays: None

The motion carried.

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-03

REGULAR MEETING OF THE JERSEY VILLAGE CRIME CONTROL AND PREVENTION DISTRICT – August 17, 2020

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE CRIME CONTROL AND PREVENTION DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF JERSEY VILLAGE, TEXAS, ADOPTING A BUDGET FOR THE ENSUING FISCAL YEAR, BEGINNING OCTOBER 1, 2020, AND ENDING SEPTEMBER 30, 2021, IN ACCORDANCE WITH CHAPTER 363 OF THE TEXAS LOCAL GOVERNMENT CODE AND THE ALTERNATIVE PROCEDURES ADOPTED BY THE DISTRICT; AND PROVIDING FOR THE EFFECTIVE DATE THEREOF.

F. Election and appointment of officers – President, Vice President, and Secretary for the term, which will begin on September 1, 2020 and will end August 31, 2021.

Director Wubbenhorst moved to nominate Andrew Mitcham as President for the 2020-2021 term of office; Bobby Warren as Vice President for the 2020-2021 term of office; and the City of Jersey Village City Secretary as Board Secretary for the 2020-2021 term of office. Director Holden seconded the nominations.

There being no other nominations for these Offices, the vote follows on the motion:

Ayes: Directors Wasson, Holden, Singleton, Wubbenhorst, and Sheppard

Nays: None

Abstain: Director Warren and President Mitcham

The motion carried.

G. Adjourn

With no other items to be addressed by the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:14 p.m.



Lorri Coody	Board Secretary
Lom Coody,	Doard Secretary